1 Awards 2015: The Shortlist

We are pleased to unveil the 2015 edition of the 1 Awards, which recognises the best performers from the past season of professional road racing.
The winners will be chosen from our shortlist by a panel of judges. It comprises some of the most respected former riders in cycling, including Sean Kelly, Stuart O’Grady, David Millar and Erik Dekker.
Each will provide a first choice in each category, as well as a second and third place in case a count back is required. In early November, we will be publishing the winners on 1.cc. We will be celebrating the winners at the 1 Classic (November 19-21).
Over the next few weeks, we’ll also be asking for your opinions on the 2015 racing season, with some great prizes available.
Here is the shortlist for this year’s 1 Awards:
Rider of the Year: Elite Men
John Degenkolb
Chris Froome
Alexander Kristoff
Peter Sagan
Alejandro Valverde
Rider of the Year: Elite Women
Lizzie Armitstead
Jolien d’Hoore
Pauline Ferrand-Prévot
Elisa Longo Borghini
Anna van der Breggen (below)
20150922_©BrakeThrough Media_E22V0730.jpg
Team of the Year
Etixx-Quick Step
Team Sky
Stage Race of the Year
Critérium du Dauphiné
Giro d’Italia
Tour de France
Vuelta a España 
One-Day Race of the Year
Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Tour of Flanders
Tour of Lombardy
World Championship road race (above)
Best Young Rider (U23: born on or after 01/01/1992) 
Julian Alaphilippe
Tiesj Benoot
Caleb Ewan
Louis Meintjes
Adam Yates

Most Attacking Rider
Romain Bardet
Matt Brammeier
Rubén Plaza (above)
Greg Van Avermaet
Giovanni Visconti

Top Banana: Unsung Hero of the Year
Adam Hansen
Vasil Kiryienka
Dani Moreno
Wout Poels
Zdenek Stybar


The post 1 Awards 2015: The Shortlist appeared first on The world's finest cycling magazine.